noisy

Standard

My house has been way too noisy lately!  I’m not sure if it’s spring fever or cabin fever or the beginning of an actual fever but my kids have been loud…headache-inducing loud…blood-curdeling loud.  Something had to be done.  Here are my attempts…they seem to be working…it’s too soon to tell.

Attempt at not screaming at my kids #1 (ironic I know, screaming at kids for screaming): Quiet time activities.

I found pirate printables that I made into a letter matching file folder game for Michael…can you tell I was an elementary teacher? Honestly, it was simple.  The bare minimum you need to make this is a folder, clear packing tape, scissors, and the printables (they’re free!).  I used a laminator (from my teaching days) and a paper-cutter but they really aren’t necessary.  Michael has to match the lower case letters to the uppercase letters.  The end product looks like this…

I made a few other activities like this and also found some workbooks on sale at Target of 30 cents each.

Attempt #2: a huge paper roll

Who knew paper could be so exciting just because it’s big!?!  I had read on Pintrest that some newspapers sell their leftover rolls of paper cheap so I called my local newspaper…the bad news…they don’t sell them…the good news…they give them away!!!!  For Free!!! I have enough craft paper to last for years…seriously, for YEARS.  The kids think it’s great.  We traced their bodies, colored, and made a town for Michael’s cars.

I taped 2 markers to a toilet paper roll to make the roads. Not glamorous but effective.

My house is a little quieter.  Let’s face it, it won’t be quiet for years…and then I’ll be complaining that it’s too quiet…the grass is always greener.

One response »

  1. Pingback: simply brilliant « Kacy's Everyday Blog

Leave a Reply

