diy cleaning wipes

Standard

Hello all.  I saw DIY cleaning wipes on Pintrest (by the way…LOVE Pintrest!) and thought I’d try them out.  I love cleaning wipes because they’re so easy…one step and you’re done but, I don’t love the price.  These DIY cleaning wipes are so easy (and cheap) to make!

What you’ll need: 1 roll of paper towels, a serrated knife, 2 storage containers, water, and an all-purpose cleaner or vinegar.

My cost: $1 for the paper towels + $2.49 for the storage containers from Walmart =$3.49

I already had the knife, all-purpose cleaner, and (of course) the water on hand.  Next time I make these, I’ll only need to buy the paper towels which means $1 for two containers of cleaning wipes…not bad.

First, cut the paper towels in half using a serrated  knife.  An electric knife would work great if you have one.

Next, put each of the paper towel rolls (you now have 2) into the containers and dump 1/4 cup all-purpose cleaner (I used Spic & Span) and 2 3/4 cup water onto each of the rolls.  *READ THE END OF THIS POST BEFORE YOU DO THIS STEP*

Then, pull the cardboard center out – it comes out easily once it’s wet.  Pull from the center…and there you have it…cleaning wipes.  I plan to put one of these in each of my bathrooms for my daily swish & swipe (visit Flylady if you no idea what I’m talking about :))

Next time I make these, I’ll make a few adjustments concerning the amount of liquid to use.  Three cups of liquid was way too much…I had to dump and squeeze out the excess.  Next time I’ll try half that amount of liquid, or maybe even less.  Also, if you want these to be chemical free, you can use vinegar instead of all-purpose cleaner…I personally hate the smell of vinegar – not that Spic & Span smells much better 🙂 .

 

3 responses »

  1. Love it. I have been using vinegar alcohol (rubbing) lol and water to clean with, the smell goes away fairly quickly. Also I have been making my own laundry detergent, smells better and clothes are softer. I m sure you do tons of laundry like I do, this is a big saver!

    I have been really enjoying your blog, although I don’t comment much, it’s really neat I love seeing what’s up with you. The kids are beautiful!!! Talk to you soon!!

    Kelly

    • We have to get together…good luck with that right, I’m sure we’re both crazy busy. I’ve been thinking about making my own laundry detergent but it looks a little complicated. How do you do it? I just saw a “recipe” yesterday for making fabric softener…it looked pretty easy, I think I’m going to try it. Bye for now…

Leave a Reply

